Kensington | MD
Welcome to 4417 Brookfield Dr! This stunning craftsman home is equipped with all the bells and whistles and is located in desirable Kensington Estates. High-end upgrades include plantation shutters throughout, new lighting and ceiling fans throughout, custom-built high wainscoting in the dining room, updated mudroom with new flooring and modern tile, fresh paint throughout with custom wallpaper accents, complete basement bathroom renovation, Nest temperature systems, and a drinking water filtration system. The gourmet kitchen combines practicality with aesthetic sensibility with Thermador appliances, maple cabinets, Brazilian granite, and a butler’s pantry to make cooking and entertaining a breeze. Upstairs are 4 bedrooms and 3 full bathrooms. The primary bathroom has a new Koehler rain shower and all other bathrooms have new mirrors and fixtures. In the basement is another full bedroom and fully renovated bathroom in addition to seamless hardwood flooring throughout. And if that wasn’t impressive enough— the entire upstairs attic has been converted to a recreational area equipped with an indoor rock climbing wall.
Other additions to the basement include a French drain, waterproofing, and additional sump pump as well as updated kitchen cabinets with new Cb2 hardware. The garage has a custom-built organization system and wood shelving and hanging bars have been added in the guest room and main level coat closet for additional storage. The level 0.19 acre lot has been newly enclosed by a wood fence and wood gate door. Spending summer evenings outside is a delight with a new Casablanca 54″ Paume Outdoor Ceiling Fan with LED Light Kit and Wall Control on the front patio. Between the custom features, thoughtful design, and fantastic location, 4417 Brookfield Dr won’t last long!
Kensington’s early history is reflected in the Victorian architectural vision of Brainard Warner, known as the “founder of Kensington,” although there was a vibrant farming community here previous to Warner’s arrival. Be sure to visit the still-operating train station to find out why Kensington is known as a town “where the train still stops and the people still walk.” The area around the Rock Creek basin where Kensington now sits was largely agricultural in 1873, when the B&O Railroad completed a rail line which crossed Montgomery County. The community flourished at the spot where the railroad line intersected the old Bethesda~to~Bladensburg Road. This early settlement initially was known as Knowles Station. In the early 1890s, Warner, a Washington financier, purchased parcels of land to build a planned “garden” community, and established a public library, with the help of Crosby Noyes, and a newspaper, with the help of Cornelius Clum. Inspired by a recent trip to London, Warner named his subdivision Kensington Park. In 1894, the town was incorporated as the Town of Kensington.
Kensington continued to develop as a summer refuge for Washington residents wishing to escape the capital’s humid summers. As years passed, it became a year-round home for all of its residents. The large, southernmost section originally mapped out by Warner remains largely unchanged since its inception, and is an Historic District protected by the Montgomery County Historic Preservation Commission. Revitalization projects improved the shopping areas of Metropolitan and Howard Avenues, and by 2001 the familiar cement plant across from the train station closed, giving the town the chance to add more parking on Metropolitan Avenue. In 2007 Warner Circle, in the center of the Historic District, was purchased through the Montgomery County Legacy Open Space Program making the land around the mansion a County Park.
For more information on Montgomery County Schools, click here